International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) Medals are awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic. A maximum of one award is made each year, assuming that there is a nominee of appropriate quality. The award of medals will normally be by the President of IASC during the Arctic Science Summit Week (or exceptionally at another major international
meeting) following the ratification of the award.

Nominations can be submitted to the IASC Secretariat at any time. A medal nomination form is available on the IASC website under 'news.'

For more information please contact:
IASC Secretariat
Phone: +49-331-2882214

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) seeks nominations for SCAR medals for 2010. The SCAR medals are awarded biennially, either for excellence in Antarctic research or for international scientific coordination.

Details on the medals can be obtained by clicking on the 'SCAR Awards Scheme 2010' link at: A nomination form is available by clicking on the 'SCAR Medal Nomination Form' link at that same website.

Nomination Deadline: Thursday, 1 April 2010.

For further information, please go to: