Deputy Ministers of the Arctic Council met in Stockholm on May 15, 2012 together with the Permanent Participant Organizations and Arctic Council Observers. The meeting was chaired by the State Secretary for Foreign Policy of Sweden, Frank Belfrage. 

The United Nations mandated University for Peace Human Rights Centre is accepting applications for its annual field course entitled "Indigenous Peoples' Rights in the Field" that will take place from August 6 to August 12, 2012 in Costa Rica.

Arctic Cinema 2012

Fri, May 11, 2012
In September 2012 the 2nd International Festival of Amateur and Professional Films «Arctic Cinema» will take place at the NArFU campus, involving Russian and international experts and film-makers.

Family therapy in Russia

Fri, May 11, 2012
The North2North grant made possible for psychologist Eva Carlsdotter Schjetne to lecture about family therapy in Yakutsk.

The Northern Studies Virtual Conference invites students involved in undergraduate, masters, and doctoral studies to submit abstracts for the virtual conference to be held online on 28 August 2012. A virtual conference utilises the video conferencing capabilities of “smart classrooms” to established real-time video connection...

UArctic President travels

Thu, May 10, 2012
President of the University of the Arctic Lars Kullerud has been visiting University Centre in Svalbard. During his visit, he has met with the new director of UNIS, Ole Arve Misund, as well as, Mayor of Longyearbyen, Christin Kristoffersen.

Many international exchange students take home special memories from their time at the University of Lapland. Snow sculpting, visiting Santa’s Village, seeing the northern lights - these are all unique opportunities exchange students enjoy while living and studying in Rovaniemi that result in endless amounts of shared photos...

In order to achieve a successful and sustainable partnership, a Memorandum of Understanding has been endorsed related to the Thematic Network on Social Work. The parties of the MOU are Umeå University, University of Regina, University of Nordland, Northern (Arctic) Federal University and Humboldt State University.