University of Bergen

The University of Bergen was established in 1946 but the academic and institutional roots of the university date back to the foundation of Bergen Museum as research institution in 1825. As part of the university's early history you find renowned Norwegian scientists and pioneers like the polar explorer and oceanographer Dr. Fridtjof Nansen, the inventor of modern metereology Dr. Vilhelm Bjerknes, and Dr. Gerhard Armauer Hansen who discovered the leprosy bacterium.

Today the University of Bergen is a medium-sized European university with 20,000 students and 4,000 staff, spread across 7 Faculties and 90 Departments and Centres.

- 1600 international students representing more than 100 different countries.
- Approx. 250 doctorates conferred every year of which 30 % are international PhD candidates.
- International staff from 90 different countries.
- Partnerships with many of the most prestigious universities in the world.
- Member of renowned international networks and centres abroad.

- 64 bachelor degree programs
- 97 master and professional study programs
- Doctoral programs at all 7 Faculties
- 39 research schools on PhD level

Centres of Excellence
- 4 research centres of excellence (cancer biomarkers - maternal and child health - geobiology - space science)
- 1 centre of excellence in biology education


Exchange Program Fact sheet


Useful information for Exchange Students and Partners


Facts and figures

Year Established 1946
Total Number of Staff 4000
Number of Academic Staff 2700
Number of Students 20000
Focus Areas

Marine research

Climate and energy transition

Global challenges